About Kisumu County

About Kisumu County

Kisumu County is one of the 47 Counties in Kenya lying within longitudes 33° 20’E and 35° 20’E and latitudes 0°20’South and 0°50’South. The County is bordered by Homa Bay County to the South, Nandi County to the North East, Kericho County to the East, Vihiga County to the North West and Siaya County to the West. The County covers a total land area of 2009.5 KM2 and another 567 KM2 covered by water.

According to 2019 National Census Kisumu County has a population of 1,155,574. The population density is 550 persons per Km2. The population distribution by sex is 556,942 male and ,594,609 female,intersex 23 (2019 Kenya Population and housing census).

"There are 158 secondary schools in the County. Other educational institutions in the county include 3 universities, 5 university campuses, 1 national polytechnic, 1 medical training college and Kenya Utalii College Kisumu Campus."

The County has a diverse economic potential. It sits on the shores of Lake Victoria, thus providing it with the potential to be a major fishing spot. Agriculture is another area of potential. Rice is grown under irrigation in the Kano plains. Most of the water for irrigation comes from river Nyando, whose annual floods displace huge numbers of people. Kano plains also hosts sugarcane fields that supply Kibos, Muhoroni and Chemelil sugar factories located within the County.

Kisumu County also has unique features such as the shoreline of Lake Victoria, Kit Mikayi, Ndere Island National park (which hosts an amazing variety of wildlife), Impala Park among others which collectively make Kisumu a major tourist destination. The Kisumu international Airport now has the potential to deliver international tourists directly into the county.

The city of Kisumu was founded as a terminal for the railway and hosts a big railway station, thus linked to other towns along the railway line. The Lake also links the County not only with three other lakeside counties but also with the countries of Tanzania and Uganda. As such, the port of Kisumu despite being inactive at the moment has the potential to become a regional Centre of Lake Transport and a gateway for Kenya into the rest of the African Great.


Kisumu County has seven Sub-Counties namely;

              1. Kisumu West
              2. Kisumu Central
              3. Kisumu East
              4. Seme
              5. Muhoroni
              6. Nyando
              7. Nyakach

Each constituency is represented by a member of parliament. The County assembly currently has thirty five(35) elected representatives and thirteen (13) nominated representatives.

The County has an executive committee lead by the Governor and assisted CECs and chief officers and sub county administrators.

Our Guiding Statements

  • Our Vision

    To be a model, independent and people responsive County Assembly in Kenya.

  • Our Mission

    To provide a premier Legislation, Oversight and Representation services that promote the socio-economic development to the residents of Kisumu.

  • Core Values
    • Integrity
    • Professionalism
    • Respect
    • Inclusivity
    • Communication
    • Team Work
    • Equity